Other Sights for Artists’ Projects


Incorporated in May, 2005 as a non-profit society, Other Sights operates as a collective of Vancouver-based individuals with expertise in curation, project management, presentation, delivery and promotion of temporary art projects in public spaces. Other Sights is dedicated to challenging perceptions, encouraging discourse and promoting individual perspectives about shared social spaces. Other Sights seeks to create a presence for art in spaces and sites that are accessible to a broad public, such as the built environment, communications technologies, the media, and the street.

Operating outside of the gallery context, Other Sights develops new and unexpected exhibition platforms and provides support to artists, writers and curators interested in creating temporary, critically rigorous work for highly visible locations. We collaborate and share resources with organizations and individuals in order to present projects that consider the aesthetic, economic and regulatory conditions of public places and public life.


Project Partners and Co-presenters

Access Gallery, Artspeak Gallery, Bonnis Media CoreVision, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Capture Photography Festival, Contemporary Art Gallery, Creative Cultural Collaborations (C3), Creekside Community Recreation Centre, Emily Carr University of Art + Design, Environmental Youth Alliance, Gardeners without Borders, Great Northern Way Campus, grunt gallery, Host Consulting Inc, JJ Bean, Langara College Centre for Art in Public Spaces, Museum of Anthropology, Patch, Pendulum Gallery, Presentation House Gallery, South Hill BIA Public Art Committee, Sydney Festival, Tribal Warrior Aboriginal Corporation, Vancouver Art Gallery, Vancouver Chamber Choir, Vancouver Design Nerds, Vancouver Heritage Foundation, Vancouver Maritime Museum, Vancouver Master Gardeners (affiliated with VanDusen Gardens), Vancouver Public Library, and the Western Front. Other Sights is pleased to be an institutional member of the Indigenous Curatorial Collective and the Pacific Association of Artist Run Centres (PAARC). Visit ArcPost, an online resource for artist run culture.


Randy Lee Cutler, Hugh Kerr, David MacWilliam, Patrik Andersson, Anonymous B, Blue Water Systems, Lorna Brown, Barbara Cole, Dia Media, Eric Deis Studio, Evergreen, Exchange-A-Blade, Joseph Fry, Home Depot, Integral Design, Karen Henry, Jane Irwin and Ross Hill, Tamara Kaminiarz, Hugh Ker, Elia Kirby, Germaine Koh and Ian Verchere, Vanessa Kwan, Rachel and Joseph Lafo, Lamoureux Architects, Christine Leclerc, Landon Mackenzie, Sheila Mackenzie, Myfanwy MacLeod, Millennium Development Group, Helen and John O’Brian, Origins Coffee Roastery, PWL Partnership Landscape Architects Inc, Roberts & Stahl Barristers and Solicitors, Second City Printing, 221A, Carol Schmidt, Marko Simcic, Reece Terris, The Audain Foundation, The Model Shop, The Pallet Guy, Mauro Vescera, and Yardworks.

Past and Present Funders

British Columbia Arts Council, Burrard Arts Foundation, Canada Council for the Arts, Canadian Union of Public Employees Local 15, Canon Community Urban Agriculture Fund, City of Vancouver, Hamber Foundation, Leon and Thea Koerner Foundation, Province of British Columbia, Vancouver Foundation, and Vancouver Park Board Neighbourhood Matching Fund.


Neudis Abreu, John Armitage, Emma Artis, Matthew Ballantyne, Chloe Bennett, Colin Bentley, Penny Birnham, Meaghan Buckley-Pearson, Stewart Burgess, Neil Chung, Hailey Cole-McElroy, Allison Collins, Kim Cooper, Gabe Daly, Ocean Dionne, Stephanie Doerksen, Louis Douesnard, Gallop Fan, Amir Fetanat, Felicia E. Gail, Gendreau, Sherry Gilbank, Lyndl Hall, Janet Hamilton, Helene, Henry, Amir Hossein, Kent Houston, Leslie Ann Ingram, Gerald Joe, Valerie Halpin Jones, Emmi Jormalainen, Tero Juuti, Maria Keating, James Kemp, Lois Klassen, Christian Kliegel, Alicia Medina Laddaga, Nigel Laing, Mike Levenston, Joni Low, Liz Lowacki, Maurizio Lozano, Kevin Lui, David MacWilliam, Anne Maisonneuve, Ariann Mangas, Anand Mani, Chad Manley, Moshe Mastai, Dave Mason, Joanne McDonald, Neil McLean, Dianne McNair, Alexander McNaughton, Stephanie Mauer, Eklas Miller, Phillip Nee Nee, Pablo, Kristina Parusel, Jenn Pearson, Patricia Phulijen, Catherine Pulkinghorn, Emilio Rojas, Maia Rowan, Holly Schmidt, Michael Schwartz, Stef St. Loe, Christine Strauss, Mike Taylor, Chelsea Trousdell, Julie Wall, Sandy Wang, Nikki White, Steve Williams, Antoni Wojtyra, Desmond Wong, Elisa Yon, Carol Zhang, and Michael Zife.

Past Co-op and Placement Students

Tianna Barton, Lance Cardinal, Tony Charlie, Jack Chiu, Tom Hsu, Sanghyun Samuel Kim, Kamille Manoy, Bahador Saray Sorour, Sarah Storteboom, Chelsea Trousdell, Yi Tung, Richard Yeung, Shuai Zhao

Annual Reports